Beach Volleyball: 38 teams gun for glory at the President Cup in Kaduna

A total number of 38 teams will participate at this year's President Beach Volleyball Cup, according to the Technical Director of Nigeria Volleyball Federation (NVBF), Chief Martin Melandi.

Melandi disclosed the number of teams during the technical meeting held on Thursday.

The 4th edition of the President Beach Volleyball Cup (Junior and Senior) is scheduled for 13th to 19th February, 2023 at Ahmadu Bello Stadium (ABS) in Kaduna.

Melandi said in the senior categories, 13 men and 7 women's teams got registered while in the U17 categories, 10 boy's and 8 Girls teams indicated interest.

He said the Nigeria Volleyball Federation is working assiduously in ensuring players get enough playing time due to the number of international engagements.

He said, "The number of players participating in this year's President Beach Volleyball Cup is encouraging. It means the players are beginning to pick interest in beach volleyball.

"This year, the number of international beach volleyball events are high and the NVBF wants to create an environment where players can have playing time.'

The President of Nigeria Volleyball Federation, Engineer Musa Nimrod expressed delight over the number of registered players at this year's President Cup.

Nimrod said, "This is one of the happiest moments in my life because the players are embracing beach volleyball. I want to assure you that the Federation is working with potential sponsors ahead of the National Beach Volleyball Tour in the coming months.

"I want to welcome everyone of you to the President Cup, enjoy yourself, play safe and ultimately put in your best because we are going to make selections from this event".

Full list of participating teams:

Men's team (13)

Life Camp VC, GG Spikers, Desert Warriors VC, Games Bill VC, Nigeria Customs Service, Nile University, Kada Stars, Gombe State, Kano Pillars, Nigeria Correctional Service, Niger Brass VC, Nyanya Spikers and Kaduna State 

Women's team (7) 

Nigeria Customs Service, Adamawa Queens, Kaduna State, Nile University, FCT, Niger Ravens and NSCDC

U17 Boys team (10)

Kada Stars, Flourish VC, FCT, Adamawa State, Pro Spikers, Katsina United, Samba Boys, Young Eagles, Filkom VC and Nyanya Spikers

U17 Girls team (8)

Flourish VC, Kada Team, Plateau Peacock, Kastina State, Team FCT, Pro Spikers, Young Eagles and Filkom.

Post a Comment