Gombe Governor Swears in Newly Elected Local Council Chairpersons, Charges Them to Lead with Integrity

Zakari Haruna - Kaduna 

Gombe State Governor, Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya, has sworn in the 11 newly elected Local Government Council Chairpersons, urging them to approach their new role with fear of God, honesty, and accountability. The ceremony, held at the Government House on Monday, followed the declaration of winners in the election held on Saturday, April 27, 2024, with the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) securing victory in all 11 Chairmanship and 114 Councillorship seats contested.

Governor Inuwa Yahaya congratulated the new chairpersons on their well-deserved victory, emphasizing that their election is a testament to the trust and confidence placed in them by the people. 

He charged them to prioritize the wellbeing, peace, and prosperity of their constituents, and to extend the hands of friendship and collaboration to all, regardless of partisan, ethnic, religious, and sectarian differences.

The Governor also commended the State Independent Electoral Commission (GOSIEC), security agencies, civil society organizations, and the general public for ensuring the peaceful and orderly conduct of the elections. 

He acknowledged that their commitment to the democratic process has contributed to the success of the elections, thus strengthening democracy.

The newly sworn-in chairpersons include: Danladi Adamu (Akko), Ibrahim Salisu (Balanga), Eglah Idris (Billiri), Adamu Muhammad Waziri (Dukku), Shu'aibu Abdularahman (Funakaye), Sani Ahmed Haruna (Gombe), Iliya Sulaiman (Kaltungo), Ahmed Wali Doho (Kwami), Babangida Adamu Jigawa (Nafada), Fatima Binta Bello (Shongom), and Abubakar Hassan Deba (Yamaltu Deba).

The event was attended by top government officials, party stalwarts, and stakeholders, including the Chief Whip of the House of Representatives, Hon. Usman Bello Kumo, and the Speaker of Gombe State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Muhammad Abubakar Luggerewo.

Post a Comment